Cuckoo Voice

on the crowded boulevard
words were running in opposite directions
I was weaned off speech
while others gave praise
to colored balloons and fireworks
only my words were true
without ribbons or laces

I bought a large brim hat
to hide my dumbness grimace in the crowd
it feels so bad when you get into light
from a bastard cocoon
it is so hard to fly
after crawling shamelessly

words are like one day old butterflies
flying in all directions
they have even learned to climb up to the moon
against my will they are no longer mine

and while I try to catch them
like any other human
a black bird is at wake
under a cuckoo nest
.

Categories: My Poems in 2011 | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.