Quenched Fire

I locked my bedroom door
hiding like a wounded dog
without cleansing my injuries
there’s a blue hole in my belly
the color of dreams stronger than life

my unborn children strike my temple bones
stepping over my heart going down
along with my wishes
rough sand grinding in my stomach

I’m a woman with thousands of arms
rotating over head like a sword dance
one day they will fall over top
thorns will spring out from the bed
where I’m freezing

Jesus has a heart in flames above me
in another icon His Mother holds in her hands
a flower shaped heart
if I look closely I can see
that clouds are small angels
snowing over the blue hollow

Categories: My Poems in 2011 | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.