Seagulls

Children were playing on the beach
between fortified sand castles
I wasn’t allowed to go there
dreaming of my own castle
I was reading stories with ocean’s daughters
falling asleep on the air mattress
mother was saying that I must get tanned
I was asking her what time is it how long shall we stay there
she wasn’t answering clearly
I was swallowing my tears
grinding in my teeth
a few sand particles

When father wasn’t going fishing
he was taking me to the sea by the hand
we were jumping the waves one by one
it felt so good to pass over them
as if we were flying on the wind
One day I went alone on my blue air bed
my father was out of view
mother was even farther
a wave toppled me down
the water was salty fear swallowed me as a seashell
then father came and took me out into the light
mother was smiling

Since those days sea memories are fading
my parents are farther and farther
I like to float with my eyes
over seagulls’ wings
between clouds castles
sipping my hot tea alone

Categories: My Poems in 2010 | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.