The Dreams Laundry

one day I found a doll in the garden
hidden amid lilac bushes
maybe someone wanted to bury a dream
I bathed it and dressed it clean
she was looking towards me cross-eyed
a shard of clear sky shining in her blue eyes

in my new house there were no more dolls
I wanted to kill all forgotten dreams one by one
I threw away my good luck charms
I burnt my first poetry notebook
I gave away my summer hats
I lost my silver jewelry box

now I see myself in a cloudy mirror
there are shadows like wounds
between the eyes’ and the lips’ corners
it is not certain if I smile or cry

I shall clean the glass with peroxide
and surgical gloves
then I shall let the window wide open
because more light is the best disinfectant

Categories: My Poems in 2011 | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.