Greenery II

We continued our walk through the green tunnel.  My mother wasn’t sure where our garden was, but we hoped to find it.   I was sweating,  feeling tired,  marching and stopping to shoot pictures from time to time.  And then…a moment of nostalgia and bitter-sweet memories came on my way.  A crossroads.   The same  I knew when I was a child,  I knew where both roads led and I remembered that 30 years ago there was a sweet natural spring flowing down towards the village from that crossroads.  Now it was dry, when I was a child I was leaping over it,  now we had to go on our way,  on the right.   I felt like crying without tears,  missing those days when I played there as a child,  when my grandmother was still alive.  The left pathway led to a road above the city church,  where only houses in ruins remained ever since I was a child.  I don’t know if the ruins are still there,  that day I didn’t get there.  After the crossroads there was a clearing on that road,  the green tunnel looked like a closed eye and we continued our walk inside.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Some of the images surrounding me were frightening. Very tall trees or cut down trees, trees with strange appearances stretching their entangled limbs towards the sky. After passing along one of these trees my mother believed we reached our orchard and left the path, entering the vine area on the right. I was waiting below while she climbed there to check if our garden was there. I felt something strange, something attracting me or maybe unconsciously I spotted that creature who was standing still in that warm afternoon. Exactly there were we stopped for a while. It was a cross spider, big and brown, the kind of spiders I haven’t seen since childhood, when I was very afraid of them. That day I felt a kind of fascination combined with fear and disgust. I stayed there trying to capture the spider in a photo for minutes. I used the zoom on my camera and then I continue the walk on the same path, because my mother was back in front of me, we were still searching for our plum trees.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

So my mother was calling me because I spent too much time in fear of that spider and now she was in front of me at a far distance, and she believed we were approaching our destination. I had to pass through darker tunnels, where the vegetation was touching the ground, where the tunnel was narrow, bowing under branches that were almost scratching my back.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Another clearing in the greenery… This time another difficult step forward. In front of us a broken old apple was blocking the pathway. We had to pass over it carefully, for me it was harder with my camera in my hand. A moment of meditation about life and death, about the fate of old trees who gave many fruits through the years. That was not a wild tree, but a rare species, which name I don’t know. I was feeling sad about this time passage.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

To be continued…

Categories: Memories | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

