Greenery I.

Today I needed to remember and to share on my blog something else, not poetry. I remembered the days I spent last year (August-September) in my grandfather’s village, with him and my mother. It is good to remember but also very sad because my grandfather passed away in April this year, at the age of 87. Our house in the village is the only house with a crucifix at the front gate, it is isolated from other houses in that very small village (other houses have neighbors on the right or on the left).
One day I proposed my mother to go for a walk in the surroundings and she accepted. Our goal was to reach one of our plum orchards following the pathway between vineyards, a wild pathway above the village houses, with lush green vegetation. I took my camcorder with me to pick interesting images from that route, things that impressed me. My mother appears in my photos with a walking stick, wearing a hat. I was loitering behind her, busy with my small camera. A few times I was in front of her.
We started our journey in the wilderness on the steep road that begins at our house corners, stemming from the main route. We had to climb between different bushes. Rose hips were ripe. Only a few houses on that road. One of them was a picturesque gipsy house, pink, resembling a mushroom, with a dog tied to the entrance door.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

At the next corner we entered the pathway between vines, leaving the village on our left. Since the beginning the road was difficult, climbing furthermore, covered in vegetation like a green tunnel or a corridor through an emerald castle. It was about 2 PM, but there the early autumn sun, still powerful there, was visible only from time to time, where the green wall was disrupted. An impressive trunk on the right (probably an acacia) caught my attention.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I was always fascinated by sunlight speckles or sunlight passing through curtains or leaves. That day I was happy to see again how beautiful is natural light filtered through natural green stained glass. At the very beginning of our quest for the orchard I found a wooden fence through which the sun was gliding on that lonely and dark pathway. After that I stepped in an area where I was impressed by the delicate embroidery made of leaves and thin branches, allowing more sunshine there than in other places of that road. Like a green and translucent veil revealing beauty and stirring my imagination.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

To be continued…

Categories: Memories | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

