Don’t look the children in the eyes

because I was a child I had my eyes above
I saw too clearly beyond clouds
then the rain came down
and grandma took me by the hand
to the beehives
I stepped into the sticky mud up to my ankles
my eyes slipped down
when I tasted for the first time
the core of the honeycomb
too sweet

little by little
my eyebrows thickened
from dandelion to dandelion
and baptism after baptism
the tiny stars grew roots
no more place in the sky for my eyes

now when it rains I search in vain
my grandma’s big and black umbrella

Categories: My Poems in 2014 | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.