Doldrums

for example when I see a knife’s blade
with which I intend to slice the heart of the festive cake
I see nothing else but a stainless steel blade
but I don’t think about the fact that it’s stainless steel
I don’t think about knife fighters or about the silver sword
nor about Miss Havisham’s wedding cake
nor about the fact that festive cakes are sweet
only for the sweet bird of youth
I see only a knife’s blade and I feel how it glides inside
slowly and with great care
because I control it perfectly and calmly
without any swearing on my mind right in the middle of the cake
without any flashback from my past anniversaries
without answering the usual nagging “what are you thinking of”
or sometimes answering with a natural smile
that I don’t think at all
this is the truth
be aware of the doldrums-women
they’re worse than a storm

Categories: My poems in 2016 | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

